他們在我們面前是絕對反對第三方復制的。 我們也全心全意 收養的支持者. 收養和捐贈者受孕都涉及兒童的損失。 在這兩種情況下,孩子都與至少一位非親生父母一起生活。 與親生父母撫養的同齡人相比,捐贈者懷孕的孩子和收養的孩子更有可能面臨結局下降的問題。 然而這兩種情況是不同的。

收養——試圖修補傷口。 第三方復制 - 造成傷害。

收養源於破碎。 無論是與養父母一起被送進醫院,還是在機構生活多年後,養孩子都必須失去他們的第一個家庭,然後才能找到他們的“永遠的家庭”,造成原始創傷。 只有在將孩子留在她的親生家庭的所有選擇——除了虐待、忽視或遺棄的情況之外的最佳情況——都已用盡時,才應進行收養。 即便如此,最近也出現了向開放收養的轉變,因為社會工作者認識到孩子們只要有可能就從與他們的第一個家庭聯繫中受益。  任何接受過強制收養培訓的人都會告訴你,他們收養的孩子可能會經歷一個悲傷、調整的過程,並可能會經歷被拒絕和被遺棄的感覺。 養父母是 不負責任 為孩子的傷口,但正在尋求補救傷口。 收養說:“讓我幫忙。”

另一方面,供體受孕會造成傷口。 成年人故意生下孩子,明確表示要在沒有一個(或兩個)親生父母的情況下撫養他們。 雖然收養已經遠離匿名,但生育行業的匿名配子捐贈呈爆炸式增長。 通過精子和卵子捐贈創造的孩子們也為失去父母而哀悼。 但不同的是,撫養他們的成年人是 負責 為他們的損失。   第三方復制說“讓我擁有”。

收養——孩子是客戶。 第三方復制——成人是客戶。

收養的指導前提是孩子應該得到父母。 因此,州或安置機構主要關心為每個孩子尋找父母,而不是為每個成年人尋找孩子。 雖然有些養父母或機構為了孩子的利益而忽視了孩子的“最大利益” 希望 成人和/或經濟收益,州、聯邦和國際法規已經制定了幾十年來減少這些情況。 如果收養處理得當,並不是每個成年人都有一個孩子,但每個孩子都會被安置在充滿愛心的父母身邊。 由於將孩子的監護權交給生疏的陌生人是有風險的,因此養父母在安置前正確地接受篩查、背景調查、身體/心理評估和培訓。 他們還接受收養後的監督。 In 收養,大人為了孩子犧牲。

通過第三方復制,成年人是客戶。 生育行業在錯誤觀念下運作,即成年人有權生育孩子,即使成年人單身或處於非生育關係、有犯罪記錄或身體/精神上不適合為人父母。 生育行業的運作幾乎不受監管,其存在是為了向人們提供兒童產品 任何 成人。 孩子的代價是失去一半/全部的生物學身份,失去與親生父母中的一個或兩個的關係,有時是孩子渴望的雙性父母影響,也許還有一個安全的家。 在第三方復制中,孩子為成人犧牲。

收養——成人撫養孩子。 第三方復制-兒童支持成人。

在收養和第三方生殖中,兒童需要通過失去來獲得支持。 在收養家庭中,孩子可以更自由地為失去親生父母而悲傷,因為他們知道 他們的養父母不對他們失踪的父母負責.  

以下是養父母在孩子說“我想念我的親生媽媽”時的一些回應:

  • “我的一個人說他希望他能留在中國。 任何時候出現這種情況,我們都會驗證並告訴他,“我知道! 我真的很抱歉你沒有和你的原生家庭一起長大。 你當然想念他們! 同時,我很高興你是我們的兒子。 我們迫不及待地想一起回中國訪問,希望能拜訪你的養母。”
  • “我最大的孩子(11 歲)定期說,只要她能說出來,她就會想念她的親生母親……我們的回應一直是……你當然……因為你被設計為和他們在一起。 他們兩個……所以你的疼痛是真實的和合理的。 ♡ 我們會一起做這件事,我們永遠不會離開你。 但我們知道你的疼痛是真正的寶貝……但是……你不必“住在那裡”,因為我們有一位偉大的上帝,將我們作為神聖的 B 計劃放在你的生活中。”
  • “我認為[我的養子]所想和對他影響最深的是他的生父一旦懷孕就離開了他的生母,導致她不得不制定收養計劃。 他對此表達了很多憤怒,我們一直認為這是適當的......我的意思是,谁愿意被拋棄?

這些被收養的孩子在悲傷中得到支持,因為撫養他們的成年人並沒有選擇讓他們失去親生父母。 他們只是試圖修補傷口。

相比之下,捐贈者懷孕的孩子與成人生活在一起 對損失負責 父母一方/雙方。 結果,他們可能會感到有壓力要支持父母的感情,即使這意味著要壓制自己的感情。 由於這種父母/孩子的動態,簡單地表達他們的損失可能會被解釋為責備,這使得孩子很難誠實:

  • DC 人的心理風險是一個未被認識到的因素,因為我們的存在與他人的痛苦(接受者)聯繫在一起。 如果我們不同意他們的決定,我們就有可能被“父母”拒絕。 我們是在蛋殼上行走長大的,唯恐我們傷害了它們。 我們在情感上麻木了,因為每個人都告訴我們,我們不應該對我們的親生父母、祖父母、阿姨、叔叔、堂兄弟姐妹、語言、文化有感覺。 在很多方面,我們養育我們的父母...... 我們為別人的幸福而存在。 這是一個非常沉重的負擔。   - 匿名 
  • 在沒有父親的情況下長大很糟糕。 我真的不能在不傷害她的情況下與我媽媽進行這種對話。 如果我媽媽和我有分歧,我就沒有其他人可以談了。 我感覺很孤獨。 我覺得我錯過了所有的小事,比如讓你爸爸背著你,教我如何騎自行車,或者當我對男孩表現出興趣時過度保護。 我個人並不想念我的捐贈者,我為失去沒有父親的童年而哀悼。 https://anonymousus.org/or-is-it-me-being-selfish/
  • 不管我媽媽有多牛逼,我都會想起那些有我同一個捐贈者的血液在他們的血管裡流淌的兄弟姐妹。 不管我媽媽有多牛,我仍然沒有勇氣告訴她,我找到了我的親生父親,就像許多其他捐贈者懷孕的後代一樣,只是通過谷歌搜索而已。 她永遠不會知道我感到不開心,以至於她(花費數千美元把我帶到這個世界的那個人)還不足以讓我滿意。 https://anonymousus.org/parent-thinks-donor-conceived-child-simply-doest-care/ 
  • “你為什麼不和你媽媽談談呢?” 他們問。 我害怕得發抖。 當她的努力、動力和熱情讓你進入這個世界時,你怎麼和你媽媽談談你有多受傷? 你如何讓某人坐下來,從根本上告訴他們,他們還不足以成為你的“家庭”?……當他們說出那些太熟悉和著名的話:“你應該感謝她如此渴望你在這裡,以至於她經歷了整個過程,並付錢以確保她能愛一個孩子。” https://anonymousus.org/why-i-stay-quiet/

成年人應該理解、包容和支持。 這在收養中是可能的,因為父母不對孩子的創傷負責,但正在尋求補救。 在第三方復制中,通常必須是孩子理解、包容和支持。 儘管這兩種情況都涉及失去孩子,但一種情況允許孩子悲傷、處理和治愈。

這種動態的影響——由負責孩子損失的成年人提出——反映在大規模研究中 我爸爸的名字是捐贈者 它比較了捐贈者懷孕的孩子、收養的孩子和他們的親生父母撫養的孩子之間的結果。

  • 與大約五分之一的收養成年人(48%)相比,近一半的捐贈後代(19%)同意:“當我看到朋友和他們的親生父親和母親在一起時,這讓我感到難過。” 同樣,超過一半的捐贈後代(53%,而被收養的成年人為 29%)同意,“當我聽到其他人談論他們的家譜背景時,我感到很痛苦。”
  • 與 15% 的收養者和 XNUMX% 的親生父母撫養的後代相比,XNUMX% 的捐贈後代同意:“我對誰是我的家庭成員,誰不是我感到困惑。”
  • 幾乎一半的捐贈後代(47%)同意,“我擔心我的母親可能在我成長的重要事情上對我撒謊。” 相比之下,有 27% 的人被收養,18% 的人由他們的親生父母撫養長大。 捐贈者的受孕概率不僅是其親生父母撫養的捐贈者的兩倍半,而且他們強烈同意這一說法的可能性也大約是其四倍。 同樣,43% 的捐贈後代同意“我擔心父親可能在我成長的重要事項上對我撒謊”,而養父母或親生父母撫養的捐贈後代的比例分別為 22% 和 15%。 與親生父母撫養的後代相比,捐贈者後代強烈同意的可能性是其四倍以上。
  • …許多捐贈者的後代都同意“我覺得沒有人真正了解我。” 13% 的人強烈同意,相比之下,XNUMX% 的收養者和 XNUMX% 的親生父母撫養長大。

有時需要收養。 第三方復制永遠不會。

在一個完美的世界裡,沒有孩子需要被收養。 理想情況下,每一個參與生育活動(性)的男人和女人都準備好並願意將自己的生命奉獻給彼此以及通過他們的結合創造的任何孩子。 那將永遠是最好的情況,因為這是孩子不會因為父母的選擇而遭受損失的唯一情況。

但是這個不完美世界的證據就在我們身邊,所以我們知道有時候採用不僅是可選的,而且是至關重要的。

作為一個養母,我可以誠實地說,如果我兒子的親生父母留住他會更好; 使他免於出生時與母親分離的創傷、數月的機構化以及他在我們家中成長時將面臨的身份問題。 但他們沒有。 所以他得到了第二好的東西:一個接受過背景調查、培訓、監督並承諾撫養他的父母,就好像他是他們親生的一樣。 我們用我們身上的一切來愛我們的養子。 我們的兒子是給我們家人的禮物。 他才華橫溢、英俊、直覺敏銳……而且他不應該需要我們。

一個公正的社會關愛孤兒。 它不會創造它們。

收養和第三方生殖都涉及兒童的終身損失。 然而,他們在我們面前支持收養,因為它試圖通過實現孩子對母親和父親的權利來彌補破碎。 我們反對第三方復制,因為它通過剝奪孩子對父母的權利而造成破碎。  

一種要求兒童為成人犧牲,另一種要求成人為兒童犧牲。  

一種支持兒童權利,一種侵犯兒童權利。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

Them Before Us is categorically against third-party reproduction.  We are also whole-hearted supporters of adoption. Both adoption and donor-conception involve loss for children.  In both situations a child is living with at least one non-biological parent.  Donor conceived children as well as adopted children are more likely to struggle with detrimental outcomes compared to their peers raised by their biological parents.  Yet these two situations are different.  One supports children’s rights, and one violates them.

Adoption- mends a wound.  Third-party reproduction- inflicts a wound.

Adoption is born of brokenness.  Whether placed with their adoptive parents at the hospital or after living in an institution for years, an adoptive child must lose their first family before finding their “forever family” inflicting a primal wound. Adoption should take place only when every option of keeping the child with her birth family- the best case scenario except in circumstances of abuse, neglect or abandonment- has been exhausted.  And even then, there has been a recent shift toward open adoption because social workers recognize that kids benefit from connecting with their first family whenever possible.  Anyone who has undergone the mandated adoption training will tell you that their adopted child will likely go through a process of grieving, adjustment, and may experience feelings of rejection and abandonment.   Adoptive parents are not responsible for the child’s wound, but are seeking to remedy the wound. Adoption says, “Let me help.”

Donor-conception on the other hand, creates a wound. The adults intentionally produce children with the express intent of raising them without one (or both) biological parent. While adoption has moved away from anonymity, there has been an explosion of anonymous gamete donation in the fertility industry. Children created through sperm and egg donation also mourn the loss of their missing parent. But the difference is that the adults who are raising them are responsible for their loss.   Third-party reproduction says “Let me have.”

Adoption- the child is the client. Third-party reproduction- the adult is the client.

The guiding premise in adoption is that children deserve parents.  Therefore the state or placement agency is primarily concerned with finding parents for every child, rather than finding a child for every adult.  Not every adult should have a child place with them, but every child should be placed with loving parents. Because granting guardianship of a child to a biological stranger is risky, adoptive parents rightly undergo screenings, background checks, and training prior to placement. They also receive post- adoption supervision. In adoption, the adults sacrifice for the child.

With third-party reproduction, the adults are the clients.  The fertility industry operates under the mistaken notion that adults have a right to a child, even if the adults are single or in a non-procreative relationship.  The fertility industry exists to deliver a child-product, requiring a child to lose half of her biological identity, a relationship with one or both natural parents, and sometimes the dual-gender parental influence that kids crave.  In third-party reproduction, the child sacrifices for the adult.

Adoption- adult supports child. Third-party reproduction- child supports adult.

In both adoption and third-party reproduction children need to be supported through their loss.  In an adoptive home, the child is more free to grieve the loss of their biological parents because they know that their adoptive parents are not responsible for their missing parents.  

Here are some responses from adoptive parents when their child says “I miss my birth mom:”

  • “One of mine has said he wishes he could have stayed in China. Any time this comes up, we validate and tell him, “I know! I’m really sorry you didn’t get to grow up with your birth family. Of course you miss them! At the same time, I’m SO glad you’re our son. We can’t wait to go back to visit China together and hopefully visit your foster mom.”
  • “My oldest (11) has said periodically that she misses her birth mom for as long as she could speak it… Our response has always been in line with… of course you do…because you were designed to be with them. Both of them… So your ache is real and legitimate. ♡ We’ll do this together and we’ll never leave you. But we know your ache is real baby…but..you don’t have to “live there” because we have a great God that put us in your life as the Divine Plan B.”
  • “I think what [my adoptive son] thinks about and what affects him most deeply is the knowledge that his birth father left his birth mother once she became pregnant, causing her to have to make an adoption plan. He expresses a lot of anger about that, which we’ve always validated as appropriate…..I mean, who wants to be abandoned?”

These adopted children receive support through their grief because the adults raising them are not responsible for the loss of their birth parents.

In contrast, a child living with the adult responsible for the loss of one/both parents, often feel that they need to support their parents feelings, even if it means suppressing their own. As a result, they cannot be honest about their pain.  Because of this parent/child dynamic, simply voicing their loss may be interpreted as blame. Here are a few donor-conceived children talking about how they feel they can’t be honest with their parents:

  • The psychological risk to DC people is an unrecognised element because our existence is tied up with someone else’s pain (the recipient). We risk rejection from our ‘parent(s)’ if we disagree with their decision. We grow up walking on eggshells, lest we hurt them. We grow up emotionally numb because everyone tells us that we shouldn’t feel something for our biological parent(s), grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, siblings, language, culture. In so many ways, we parent our parents…. We exist for someone else’s happiness. That’s a very heavy burden to bear.  Anonymous 
  • Growing up without a father sucks. I can’t really have this conversation with my mom without hurting her. If my mom and I ever have a disagreement I have no one else to talk to. I feel so alone. I feel like I have missed out on all of the little things, like having your dad give you piggybacks or teaching me how to ride a bike or getting over protective when I show an interest in boys. I don’t miss my donor personally, i mourn the loss of a childhood without a dad. https://anonymousus.org/or-is-it-me-being-selfish/
  • No matter how kick-ass my mom is, I will think about the siblings with my same donor’s blood rushing through their veins. No matter how kick-ass my mom is, I will still not have the courage to tell her that I found my biological father, like many other donor-conceived offspring, through nothing more than a few google searches. She can never know that I felt unhappy enough to the point where she (the one that paid thousands of dollars to bring me into this world) is not enough to satisfy me. https://anonymousus.org/parent-thinks-donor-conceived-child-simply-doest-care/ 
  • “Why don’t you just talk to your mom about it?” they ask.  I shake with fear. How do you talk to your mom about how hurt you are when her effort, drive, and passion to have you brought into this world is the reason you can even speak? How do you sit someone down and essentially tell them that they are not enough of a “family” for you?… This is the moment I feel my entire body tense up as they utter the all too familiar and famous words: “You should be grateful that she wanted you here so badly that she went through this whole process and literally payed to ensure she could love a child.” https://anonymousus.org/why-i-stay-quiet/

Adults are supposed to be understanding, accommodating and supportive.  This is possible in adoption because the parent isn’t responsible for their child’s trauma, but is seeking to remedy it. In third-party reproduction, it’s the child who must often be understanding, accommodating and supportive. Even though both situations involve child loss, one situation allows a child to grieve, process, and heal.

The impact of this dynamic- being raised by the adult responsible for the child’s loss- is reflected in the massive study My Daddy’s Name is Donor which compares outcomes between donor-conceived children, adopted children, and those raised by their biological parents.

  • Nearly half of donor offspring (48 percent) compared to about one fifth of adopted adults (19 percent) agree, “When I see friends with their biological fathers and mothers, it makes me feel sad.” Similarly, more than half of donor of spring (53 percent, compared to 29 percent of the adopted adults) agree, “It hurts when I hear other people talk about their genealogical background.”
  • Forty-three percent of donor offspring, compared to 15 percent of adopted persons and six percent of those raised by their biological parents, agree, “I feel confused about who is a member of my family and who is not.” 
  • Almost half of donor offspring (47 percent) agree, “I worry that my mother might have lied to me about important matters when I was growing up.” This compares with 27 percent of those who were adopted and 18 percent raised by their biological parents. Not only are the donor conceived more than two and a half times as likely as those raised by their biological parents to agree with this statement, they are about four times as likely to agree strongly. Similarly, 43 percent of donor offspring, compared to 22 percent and 15 percent, respectively, of those raised by adoptive or biological parents, agree that “I worry that my father might have lied to me about important matters when I was growing up.” Compared to those raised by biological parents, the donor offspring are more than four times as likely to agree strongly.

  • …many donor offspring agree that “I don’t feel that anyone really understands me.” Twenty-five percent agree strongly, compared to 13 percent of adopted and nine percent of those raised by biological parents.

Both adoption and third-party reproduction involve life-long loss for children. However, Them Before Us supports adoption because it seeks to remedy brokenness by fulfilling a child’s right to a mother and father.  We oppose third-party reproduction because it inflicts brokenness by denying a child’s right to their mother and father.  

One requires that children sacrifice for adults while the other requires adults to sacrifice for children.  

Previous Article

Kathleen LaBounty

As an adult offspring of an anonymous sperm donor, I am telling pieces of my ... Read more

Next Article

John King

I was ten years old when my Mom told me she was a Lesbian. It’s ... Read more

Share This