作為一個匿名捐精者的成年後代,我講述我的生活故事片段,以提供後代的視角,倡導未來後代的需求,並揭露捐贈者受孕導致的相對被忽視的複雜性。 我的旅程始於 4 年 1981 月 1980 日,那天我母親去休斯頓的一家診所接受一位匿名的貝勒醫學院學生提供的精子授精。 像許多其他夫婦一樣,由於我父親的精子數量少,我的父母求助於匿名捐贈者。 然而,與 XNUMX 年代後期及以後的受援家庭不同,他們沒有收到捐贈者編號、病史、有關我的遺產的信息或有關我的捐贈者的任何其他事實。

8歲時,我了解了我的受孕歷史。 我和媽媽坐在我床的對面,她解釋說我非常需要我,所以她去精子庫尋求幫助懷孕。 她很快向我保證,我的父親是我出生證明上的父親,而我父親當時 25 歲的親生女兒仍然是我的“同父異母”妹妹。 我還發現,我的母親在我到達前 11 個月生下了另一個捐贈者懷孕的嬰兒,但孩子出生後患有唐氏綜合症,被送去收養。

當時,我認為通過匿名捐贈孕育的概念很有趣,而且幾乎是神奇的。 除了我的媽媽、爸爸和我父親的“同父異母”姐姐之外,我突然通過我的媽媽意識到了一個與我年齡相近的智障同父異母兄弟,一個醫學生的生父,也許和我一樣大的深藍色眼睛,甚至可能是我親生父親的其他不為人知的同父異母兄弟姐妹。 生活還能變得多麼獨特? 然而,隨著年齡的增長,匿名和不透露身份的捐贈的想法變得不那麼迷人,而且更加令人痛苦,成為捐贈者懷孕的後代背後的現實開始受到影響。

從成年後代的角度來看,現在單純的非身份釋放精子捐贈的概念似乎是基於矛盾和有缺陷的推理。 出於對與孩子的生物學聯繫的深切渴望,善意的女性追求捐贈者授精而不是收養,但具有諷刺意味的是,非身份釋放捐贈者的概念經常切斷後代、捐贈者和其他人之間完全相同的生物學聯繫父系生物家庭。 這種切斷的聯繫可能會讓後代感到不完整或心碎,就像追求精子捐贈者受孕的女性在沒有親生孩子的情況下可能會有的感覺一樣。 我不僅親身經歷了親生父親去世的感覺,而且我還在繼續為失去認識我的親生兄弟姐妹、阿姨、叔叔、表兄弟和祖父母的機會而悲痛……

閱讀更詳細 捐助者構想網

As an adult offspring of an anonymous sperm donor, I am telling pieces of my life story to provide the perspective of an offspring, to advocate for the needs of future offspring, and to expose relatively ignored complexities resulting from donor conception. My journey began on May 4, 1981, the day that my mother went to a Houston clinic to receive an insemination of sperm provided by an anonymous Baylor College of Medicine student. Like many other couples, my parents had turned to an anonymous donor due to my dad’s low sperm count. Unlike recipient families in the late 1980s and on, however, they did not receive a donor number, medical history, information on my heritage, or any other facts about my donor.

At the age of 8, I learned about my conception history. My mother and I sat on opposite sides of my bed as she explained that I was so badly wanted that she had visited a sperm bank for help conceiving me.  She quickly assured me that my dad was my father on my birth certificate and that my dad’s then 25-year-old biological daughter from a previous marriage was still my “half”-sister. I also discovered that my mother gave birth to another donor conceived baby just 11 months before my arrival, but the child was placed up for adoption after being born with Down syndrome.

At the time, I thought the concept of being conceived by an anonymous donation was intriguing and almost magical. In addition to my mom, dad, and my older “half”-sister through my dad, I suddenly became aware of a mentally handicapped half-brother nearly my age through my mom, a medical student biological father who perhaps shared my big dark blue eyes, and probably even other unknown half-siblings through my biological father. How more unique could life get? As I grew older, however, the idea of anonymous and non-identity release donations became less fascinating and significantly more distressing, and the reality behind being a donor-conceived offspring began to hit.

From an adult offspring perspective, now the mere concept of non-identity release sperm donation seems to be based on contradictions and flawed reasoning. Well-intentioned women pursue donor insemination rather than adoption due to a deep longing for a biological connection with a child, yet ironically non-identity release donor conception frequently severs that exact same biological connection between the offspring, the donor, and the rest of the paternal biological family. This severed connection may leave offspring feeling incomplete or heart-broken, much the same way that women pursuing sperm donor conception probably feel without a biological child. Not only have I personally experienced what feels like the death of my biological father, but I also continue to grieve for the loss of the opportunity to know my biological half-siblings, aunts, uncles, cousins, and grandparents…

Read more at Donor Conception Network

Previous Article

Jessica Kern

My name is Jessica Kern. I am a product of a traditional surrogacy. This is ... Read more

Next Article

Third Party Reproduction Vs. Adoption- there's a big difference.

Them Before Us is categorically against third-party reproduction.  We are also whole-hearted supporters of adoption. Both ... Read more

Share This